Jenbenbry's Blog

Quilting in the Windy City

First Chicago Modern Quilt Guild Swap May 17, 2010

Filed under: Quilts in Progress — jenbenbry @ 2:27 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I attended my second Chicago Modern Quilt Guild (CMQG) meeting yesterday afternoon, and it was great! We had a wonderful presentation on color theory by Ebony which really helped me think about picking quilt colors in a new way. We also had our first swap! Everyone was asked to use four fat quarters to make a block and then bring the block and the leftover fabric from the fat quarters to exchange. We have a few months to add a border or finish the blocks and quilt, then we bring it back and regift it to the original maker of the block.

I made a zig zag block using three Kaffe Fassett patterns in blues. My inspiration for the block came from two hippos who makes simply amazing quilts!

I received a block with gorgeous, rich colors from Yolande, and I hope to do it justice! I’m thinking about how to continue the hexagon pattern she has started…

 

One Response to “First Chicago Modern Quilt Guild Swap”

  1. 2hippos Says:

    Thanks for sending me the link. The zig-zags look gorgeous! I love those blues :)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.