Jenbenbry's Blog

Quilting in the Windy City

Miniature Quilts – Star themed March 12, 2010

Filed under: Finished Quilts — jenbenbry @ 11:32 pm
Tags: , , ,

A close up of the center of the quilt, the whole thing measures only 24

Now that the baby quilts are finished and gifted to the respective babies, and the class quilt is finally done, I’m on to a new project. My mother in law, JoAnn, has a beautiful mini quilt hanging outside of her quilting room, and it inspired me to try one of my own. For my dad’s birthday I created a miniature star quilt using contrasting blues and yellows. I used Mary Graham’s pattern available here.

During this project, rather too late to use it, I discovered paper piecing. Paper piecing looks like a great way to deal with intricate patterns and small pieces. I’m not sure how it is in practice, but I’ll definitely be trying this method for my next mini quilt.

I used a balloon print for the back, my dad likes balloons!

Here's Daddy with his quilt!

 

Leave a Reply

